Trifecta Check-In (because Mariko did it and I have nothing better to do)

What is your name (real or otherwise)?
DeeDee or Diana, take your pick!

Describe your writing style in three words.
Random, funny, emotional.

How long have you been writing online?
I’ve been writing fan fiction online since 2008. I haven’t written much, but I believe my grammar and vocabulary have improved considerably because of this.

Which, if any, other writing challenges do you participate in?
Joined NaNoWriMo in 2012 and managed to write around 57.000 words, even though I didn’t manage to finish the novel.

Describe one way in which you could improve your writing.
Reading more English contemporary literature. I especially hope to increase my vocabulary and improve my descriptions.

What is the best writing advice you’ve ever been given?
I’ve been given a lot of advice in November this year, from fellow Wrimos, pep talks and so on. But I think, the best advice I received was to allow my characters to interact and see what new direction they’ll take me, even if that means I’ll be straying from my outline. I think my story began to „live” only when my characters „took over”. It was an amazing feeling – and in the end I didn’t stray from my outline too much.

Who is your favorite author?
JK Rowling, hands down. Her writing style is accessible to almost all ages and she was able to create an entire Universe almost from scratch. My respect for her goes beyond words.

How do you make time to write?
For NaNoWriMo I reserved two hours a day, from 8 to 10 or 11 PM when I wrote about 2000 words. Nowadays, for fan fiction I usually make time during the weekend (or week days, same hour interval if inspiration truly hits me) and for Trifecta – well, I write practically the very minutes after I’ve read the challenge.

Give us one word we should consider using as a prompt. Remember–it must have a third definition.
Hmm…maybe solitary? Can’t think of more interesting ones right now.

Direct us to one blog post of yours that we shouldn’t miss reading.
Unfortunately, most of my articles on this blog are in Romanian, and they are pretty random, reporting on things from music to anime and personal stuff. You don’t want to read my comments about Cher vs One Direction’s covers of „Viva la Vida”, right? Thought so. So I’ll direct you to my post about LOLCATS., for the pictures with my work.
The only post that could be of interest for writers is the one where I show my NaNoWriMo progress after week 4, using screenshots. It’s written in Romanian though.

Un gând despre „Trifecta Check-In (because Mariko did it and I have nothing better to do)

Lasă un răspuns

